Feb 23, 2019  
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog 
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Economics

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Main Departmental Office
Hickory Hall, Room 254

Mailing address:
1155 Union Circle #311457
Denton, TX 76203-5017
Fax: 940-565-4426

Web site: economics.unt.edu

Advising Offices
Undergraduate, Hickory Hall, Rooms 283B and 283D
Graduate, Hickory Hall, Rooms 220E and 220J

David J. Molina, Chair


The Department of Economics prepares students for career opportunities in the increasingly competitive domestic and global marketplace. The department is committed to a balance of high-quality teaching and research. Students benefit from the personal attention of faculty and develop a clear understanding of applications of economic theory to real-world policy issues.

There are more than 59,000 economists in the United States working in three main areas: 42 percent work in business; 37 percent in teaching, research and consulting; and 21 percent in government. Economists work in many fields, including international trade, forecasting, environmental analysis, monetary theory, economic development, insurance, banking, finance, consulting, health care, communications, marketing, law and labor relations.

An undergraduate major in economics is excellent preparation for graduate work in economics, business, law and other fields. An applied approach helps students develop the technical and quantitative skills necessary for graduate study in many of today’s expanding career fields in business and research.

Programs of study

Programs in the Department of Economics offer students a diversity of options ranging from a liberal arts perspective to a more quantitative technical background.

A Bachelor of Business Administration with a professional field in economics  is available through the Department of Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law in the College of Business, and is served by advisors in the Department of Economics.

Bachelor of Business Administration

BBA candidates must complete a minimum of 120 semester hours, 42 of which must be advanced, and meet “University Core Curriculum ” and “University Core Curriculum Requirements ” as stated in the Academics section of this catalog, and general course and curriculum requirements of the College of Business. The professional field in economics is planned with the economics undergraduate advisor and includes ECON 3550 , ECON 3560  and ECON 4140 ; 9 additional advanced economics hours; and 12 hours of approved supporting courses, including FINA 4500 .


Scholarship applications are available online and in Hickory Hall, Room 254. The deadline for applying is the end of February. Scholarship winners are announced in the spring.

The Melton-Cochran Scholarship

The Melton-Cochran Scholarship is in memory of Rosser B. “Abe” Melton (a faculty member from 1946-1975) and Kendall P. Cochran (on the faculty from 1957-1989, and department chair from 1969-1977). Melton and Cochran were both strong mentors and an inspiration to students. This scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding undergraduate economics major of junior standing who has completed at least 60 hours of coursework and maintains a minimum 3.5 overall grade point average.

Department of Economics Scholarships for Academic Excellence

Scholarships are awarded to outstanding undergraduate and graduate economics majors.

Students who have declared economics as their major are eligible, including entering freshmen and entering graduate students.

To be eligible, an undergraduate student must have a minimum GPA of 3.0. A graduate student must have a 3.0 GPA on all college work and must meet current admissions standards for the GRE or GMAT.

The amount and number of awards depend on the availability of funding.

Rising Eagle Scholarship

This scholarship is for current economics majors who are graduating with a BA/BS/BBA in Economics and are applying to the master’s-level program in economics. Students must have a minimum 3.0 average and have made application to the graduate school. The number and amount of awards depend on the availability of funding.

Lewis M. Abernathy Scholarship

This scholarship is named in honor of Professor Lewis M. Abernathy, retired UNT economics faculty member and distinguished department chairman.

To be eligible, an undergraduate student must have a minimum GPA of 3.0.

The amount and number of awards depend on the availability of funding.

Center for Economic Education

Steven L. Cobb, Director

The Center for Economic Education is committed to making formal instruction in economics more accessible to educators.

The center maintains an in-service teacher training program of course offerings regularly scheduled during evening hours and in the summer. This program provides a mechanism for the in-service training of economics teachers in community colleges and secondary and elementary schools.

In addition to these regional instructional programs, the center develops instructional material, conducts research in economics education, maintains an instructional resource center and provides technical assistance in matters pertaining to instruction in economics.

Center for Environmental Economic Studies and Research

Michael L. Nieswiadomy, Director

The Center for Environmental Economic Studies and Research promotes the use of economic tools to analyze environmental issues. The center also coordinates undergraduate major programs within existing departments for students interested in environmental topics. The center cooperates with other universities, educational institutions, and government agencies to promote research and seminars on environmental economics for the public.


    MajorsMinorsUndergraduate Academic Certificates


      Applied EconomicsEconomics

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences