Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

    Jul 14, 2024  
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog 
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism

Main Office
Chilton Hall, Room 331

Mailing address:
1155 Union Circle #311100
Denton, TX 76203-5017
Fax: 940-565-4348

Web site:

Judith C. Forney, Dean
Dee K. Knight, Associate Dean


The mission of the College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism is to transform learning, research and engagement for a global experience economy. Our vision is to lead the paradigm shift in learning and research of digitally networked, sustainable and socially responsible products and services for empowered consumers in the global economy.

Academic advising

Information regarding academic matters is available in the office of the CMHT dean. Advising for entering freshmen and transfer students is available from Student Services in the College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism. The associate dean and student services staff answer questions concerning degree audits, application of transfer credit, general academic requirements, policies and procedures and application for graduation, and assist students in the selection and sequencing of courses.

Degree requirements and the University Core Curriculum

Occasionally a course required for a degree may also satisfy a requirement of the University Core Curriculum. In addition to taking the required course, a student may elect to take a different course from among those available to fulfill that core requirement; doing so, however, may add to the total number of hours required for the degree. Students who have questions regarding degree and core requirements should consult their academic advisor.

Bachelor of Science

The College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism offers the Bachelor of Science degree with majors in digital retailing, home furnishings merchandising, hospitality management, and merchandising. The school also offers teacher certifications in Family and Consumer Sciences and in Hospitality, Nutrition and Food Science.

Degree audit

Each student should have a degree audit prepared by the College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism advising office. This degree audit should be made by the end of the freshman year. Transfer students should have degree audits prepared during their first term/semester at UNT.


The minor requires at least 18 hours, including 6 advanced. To receive a minor in any of the Merchandising and Hospitality Management programs, a grade of C or above must be earned in each College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism course completed in residence or transferred to UNT.


Information about the following scholarships may be obtained by writing to the Associate Dean, College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism, 1155 Union Circle #311100, Denton, TX 76203-5017.

Completed scholarship applications are due February 1 in the office of the Dean of the College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism. A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required for academic awards, unless otherwise noted. To keep a scholarship, a student must maintain:

  • 3.0 GPA each term/semester and 3.0 overall GPA;
  • status as a major in the College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism, taking required courses on degree audit and enrolling in at least two College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism classes per tern/semester;
  • full-time status (i.e., 12 credit hours for undergraduate students and 9 credit hours for graduate students).

The following scholarships may be awarded to either merchandising or hospitality management majors:

Bobye J. Riney– Sophomore
D. Oleana Sifuentes Memorial
Dean Suzanne V. LaBrecque
Ellen L. Flottman– Junior
Florence I. Scoular
Associate Dean Johnny Sue Reynolds
Merchandising and Hospitality Management
R. L. Cartwright Memorial
Woodruff Memorial

The following scholarships are awarded to merchandising majors:

Apparel Group Ltd.
Bette Bunge MacArthur Memorial
Furniture Library Association Award
Jack Finger Memorial
JC Penney Company
Merchandising Board of Governors
Murray Munves
Pier 1 Imports Ray M. Greenley (digital retailing)
Van Wyk

The following scholarships are awarded to hospitality management majors:

Alicia Hawkins Memorial
Alladin Hussein Memorial
Banfi Vintners
Ben E. Keith
Billie L. Parker
Chancellor’s Hotel and Restaurant Management
City Club of Fort Worth
Colin Ridgway Memorial
Don Paul and Esther Smith Memorial
Dr. Lea R. Dopson
Dr. Richard F. Tas
Felcor Lodging Trust Fund
Gaylord Texas Resort and Convention Center
Gregory S. and Barbara Hirsch
Guerra Family Endowment
Hiram Walker Hospitality
Hospitality Management Board of Governors
Hospitality Sales/Mkt. Association
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Jerry W. Dickenson
Joyce, Milton and Tyler Duesman
J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation
J.T. Whitaker
J.W. Marriott Hospitality
Kentucky Fried Chicken
Les Dames d’Escoffier
Luby’s Inc.
Lucille Murchison
Marriott Hotel and Restaurant Management
National Association of College and University Food Services (NACUFS), Region VII
Network of Executive Women in Hospitality (NEWH)
Phillip J. Romano Scholarship in Hospitality Management
Roundtable for Women in Foodservice
Ruby Nell McMahan Ruth
Spring Creek Barbeque
Texas Hill Country Wine and Food Festival
T.G.I. Friday’s


The hospitality management program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA) (P.O. Box 400, Oxford, MD 21654; 410-226-5527).

Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management

Go to information for this department.

Department of Merchandising and Digital Retailing

Go to information for this department.