Tuition and mandatory fees
Tuition, fees, room and board are subject to increase or decrease without notice by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the UNT Board of Regents. Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNT resulting from post audits and corrections, including all fees and waivers; i.e., registration assessing errors, changing from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.
For current information on tuition and fees, visit the Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services web site (studentaccounting.unt.edu). Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services is open from 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Students are responsible for payment of the following charges.
The UNT Board of Regents has been granted the authority, within established guidelines, to set graduate tuition rates by program.
Graduate tuition for all graduate courses (5000-and 6000-level courses) at UNT is $50 per hour above the undergraduate rate.
UNT Board Designated Tuition for all graduate students at UNT is $25 per hour above the undergraduate rate.
Please visit the Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services web site (studentaccounting.unt.edu) for the most current tuition and fee rates.
Undergraduate students have the choice between two tuition plans–the Eagle Express Tuition Plan and the Traditional Tuition Plan. The Eagle Express Tuition Plan lets a student lock in their total academic costs and save up to $4,000 when they graduate on time. You must meet Texas residency requirements and be seeking a bachelor’s degree to be eligible for this plan. Students on the Traditional Plan will pay a 3.9 percent increase in tuition each year. If you do not meet the Texas residency requirements, you will be automatically enrolled in the traditional tuition plan.
For additional information concerning UNT’s Tuition Plans for Undergraduate Students, go to eagleexpress.unt.edu.
Undergraduate tuition rates
(Tuition rates are subject to change)
Undergraduate students who attempt 30 or more semester credit hours beyond the minimum number of hours required for completion of their degree program will be charged additional tuition amounts. Hours attempted by students who initially enrolled as undergraduates prior to the 1999 Fall Semester are exempt. Please refer to www.unt.edu/registrar/Excesshours.htm for specific information.
Undergraduate students who enroll in certain courses more than twice will be charged additional tuition amounts. Please refer to www.unt.edu/registrar/Repeated_Courses.htm for specific information.
Graduate tuition rates
(Tuition rates are subject to change)
The UNT Board of Regents has been granted the authority, within established guidelines, to set graduate tuition rates by program. Graduate tuition for all graduate-level courses (5000- and 6000-level courses) at UNT is $50 per hour above the undergraduate rate.
The UNT Board of Regents authorized an increase of $25 per hour in the UNT Board Designated Tuition rate for graduate students only to fund recruitment and retention activities as well as scholarships for doctoral students on full-time assistantships.
Explanation of fees
(Fees are subject to change)
Visit the Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services web site (studentaccounting.unt.edu) for current fees.
Student service fees
Student service fees are assessed in proportion to the number of semester credit hours for which a student registers to cover the cost of student services that directly involve or benefit students, including, but not limited to, recreational activities, artist and lecture series, cultural entertainment series, debating and oratorical activities and student government.
Student union fee
A fixed student union fee is collected from each enrolled student for the purpose of operating, maintaining, improving and equipping the University Union. Activities financed by the student union fee are limited to those in which the entire student body is eligible to participate.
Technology use fee
The technology use fee is collected in proportion to the number of credit hours for which a student registers to defray costs associated with the addition of instructional equipment in classrooms and student computer laboratories, development of the degree audit system and instruction-related activities in the Computing Center.
Library use fee
The library use fee is collected in proportion to the number of credit hours for which a student registers to support the development and maintenance of library collections and to provide expanded operating hours and other services to meet student needs.
Medical services fee
The fixed medical services fee is used solely to provide medical services to students enrolled at the university.
International education fee
A fixed international education fee is collected from each enrolled student to be used in support of an international education financial aid fund. This fund allows an equal opportunity for all students to participate in student exchange and study abroad programs.
A fixed publication fee is collected from each enrolled student to defray costs associated with publication and distribution of schedules of classes, catalogs and other publications available to all students.
Recreational facility fee
A fixed recreational facility fee is collected from each enrolled student for the purpose of operating the Pohl Recreation Center.
The transportation fee, which is collected in proportion to the number of credit hours for which a student is registered, supports the shuttle bus system that transports students to, and around, various locations on campus.
Undergraduate Advising Fee
The undergraduate advising fee, which is collected in proportion to the number of credit hours for which a student is registered, supports the advising process for undergraduate courses.
International Student Fee
A fixed international student fee is charged to all non-immigrant visa students for each term in which they enroll in UNT. The fee is billed with tuition and other fees and is in addition to totals listed above.
Intercollegiate athletics fee
This fees is assessed in proportion to the number of semester credit hours for which a student registers to cover the cost of UNT athletics programs.
Environmental services fee
A fixed environmental services fee is collected from each enrolled student to fund environmentally related projects/activities on campus.
Property damage deposit
Each student who enrolls pays a property damage deposit that is refundable upon final withdrawal or graduation.
Fees related to instruction
Instructional fees fall into three fee categories: course fees, laboratory fees and special service fees. Please note that for billing purposes, these fee categories are grouped together and billed as one instructional fee.
Instructional fees are due at the time of registration or the payment deadline for early registered students. These fees are refundable according to the university refund policy. If a student desires to know what portion of an instructional fee falls into each category listed below, they may contact Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services at 940-565-3225.
Course fees are charged to cover consumable supplies, syllabi, tests, salaries and wages of employees who assist in the preparation, distribution and supply of classroom materials and some equipment purchases related directly to student participation in the classroom or laboratory. Course fees can, in some instances, save students money by bulk purchasing of goods and services. These fees are set at the minimum cost of services that all students in the department or division receive.
Laboratory fees are only applicable to courses that require students to register for a laboratory section. Laboratory fees are collected to cover the cost of materials and supplies used by students in the laboratory. The laboratory fee may not be less than $2 nor more than $30 for any one term/semester or summer session.
Special service fees
Special service fees are collected to help offset the cost of materials and services a student is eligible to receive while enrolled in a course. These fees are directly related to classroom, laboratory or practicum activity and may cover the wages of employees who assist in the instructional process such as models, tutors, proctors or laboratory assistants.
The chart below shows the typical breakdown of course fees charged by UNT. Fees are subject to change. Visit www.unt.edu/tuition for current fee information.
|Amount of Fee*
||Number of Courses*
|$ 0.00 – $30
|$ 30.01 – $50
|$ 50.01 – $100
|$ 100.01 – $150
|$ 150.01 – $200
|$ 200.01 – $250
|$ 250.01 – $300
|$ 300.01 – $350
|$ 350.01 – $400
*Fees based on information available for Fall 2014. Fees for Fall 2015 are expected to be comparable. Fees are subject to change.
Admission application fee
All undergraduate applicants to the University of North Texas must pay a $75.00 (U.S. resident and permanent resident alien) or $75.00 (all others, i.e., international students) non-refundable admission application fee. The fee must be paid in U.S. dollars.
Late application fee
Undergraduate students applying after the application deadline must submit a $90 application fee.
Credit by exam fee
UNT awards undergraduate college credit on the basis of local and national examinations, subject to general limitations. Examinations are offered by several UNT departments. A $53.00 fee is collected from those students who take credit by examination at UNT.
National Student Exchange fee
A fee of $200 is paid by students from UNT who apply for an exchange to another university through National Student Exchange.
NSE incoming student fee
A fee of $25 is paid by students coming to UNT on exchange from another university through the National Student Exchange.
Universities Center at Dallas fee
Students enrolling for upper-division undergraduate courses or graduate courses offered by the partner universities of the Universities Center at Dallas may enroll at their home institution for courses offered by the other UCD universities. UCD is located in downtown Dallas. A $15.00 per credit hour fee is collected from students who are enrolled at UCD.
Collin Higher Education Center fee
Students enrolling in undergraduate or graduate courses offered at the Collin Higher Education Center (CHEC) are assessed a Collin Higher Education Fee. The CHEC, a partnership with Collin County Community College, is located at 3452 Spur 399, McKinney, Texas. A $30.00 per credit hour fee is collected from students who are enrolled at CHEC.
Option to pay tuition by installment
The Texas Legislature has the authority to modify or eliminate installment payment of tuition at each regular or called legislative session.
UNT provides for the payment of tuition and fees during the fall and spring terms/semesters through the following alternatives:
- full payment of tuition and fees upon registration or by the payment deadline for early registration; or
- selection of the installment plan. By selecting the installment plan, the student understands that it is a contractual agreement and agrees to make the installment payments by the due dates indicated.
Tuition and fees must be paid in full for each summer term upon registration or by the payment deadline for early registration. Tuition payment by installment is not offered during the summer.
Non-refundable fee for tuition by installment
Handling fee: $20.00
Note: A $20.00 non-refundable handling fee will be charged to the student’s account each semester the installment plan is selected. Students who choose the installment plan option recognize they are in a contractual relationship and accept the terms of the installment plan contract.
A student who fails to make payment of tuition and fees (including any incidental fees) by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made. A student who fails to make payment prior to the end of the term/semester may be denied credit for the work done that term/semester.
See Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services at studentaccounting.unt.edu for procedures and policies concerning installment payment of tuition.
Tuition and fee payments
Credit card payments (MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover) and check payments may be made through self-service at my.unt.edu. Effective January 2015: credit and debit card payments will be assessed an additional 2.7% service fee to cover the processing cost for the payment. Electronic checks are accepted with no additional fee.
Tuition and fee payments also may be made by personal check, money order, cashier’s check, or cash at the Eagle Student Services Center. Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services requires the student identification number to be recorded on all check and money order payments made in person.
Bills are not mailed for registration. Account balances and schedule information may be obtained through self-service at my.unt.edu.
Cash payments are accepted at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services in the Eagle Student Services Center. Please do not mail cash payments.
Tuition and fee policies
Tuition covers undergraduate and graduate work. Tuition and the various fees provide limited health services and admission to university-sponsored fine arts and athletic events. Instructional fees, materials fees and private instruction fees are additional. Students must purchase their own textbooks and supplies.
Fees charged for late registration, graduation and regalia, late filing for graduation and miscellaneous items are noted at www.unt.edu/tuition.
Full-time tuition rate information
(Timely graduation tuition program)
At UNT, full-time undergraduate students pay the same amount for university tuition and fees in a fall or spring semester regardless of how many hours they take. Students are considered full-time once they register for 12 hours or more. More information is available at studentaccounting.unt.edu.
Student financial obligation agreement
Each semester, prior to registering for classes, a student is required to accept the Student Financial Obligation Agreement. For additional information, visit studentaccounting.unt.edu.
Tuition charged for excess and repeated credit hours
Undergraduate students who attempt 30 or more semester credit hours beyond the minimum number of hours required for completion of their degree program will be charged additional tuition amounts. Students initially enrolled prior to the 1999 Fall Semester are exempt. Please refer to www.unt.edu/registrar/Excesshours.htm for specific information.
Undergraduate students who enroll in the same course more than twice will be charged additional tuition amounts. Please refer to www.unt.edu/registrar/Repeated_Courses.htm for specific information.
Residency regulations for tuition purposes
Rules and regulations for determining residence status are specified under Title 19, part 1, chapter 21, subchapter B of the Texas Education Code and are available at the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, College For All Texans web site at www.collegeforalltexans.com. In general, students must domicile and physically reside in Texas for the 12-month period immediately preceding their initial registration in an educational institution in Texas. Other factors may be considered for residency determination for tuition.
Students who are not legal residents of Texas must pay nonresident tuition, including the statutory tuition charges and standard university fees approved by the Board of Regents. Admission requirements for nonresidents are the same as for resident students. Effective Fall 2015, Oklahoma residents will pay a decreased rate for nonresident tuition.
Certain residency exceptions do not affect actual residency status but do allow for a nonresident tuition exemption. Refer to “Tuition and Fee Waivers” in this section for further information.
Responsibility of the student
The student is responsible for knowing residence status and for registering under the proper status. Any questions concerning residence must be discussed with the proper authority in the Office of Admissions and/or Registrar’s Office prior to registration.
Any student erroneously classified as a resident will be reclassified and required to pay all out-of-state tuition due. Attempts to evade nonresident fees may subject the student to the statute penalty and to possible disciplinary action.
Change of status nonresident to resident
A student who is at any time classified as a nonresident retains nonresident status until reclassification as a resident is applied for and officially approved by the Registrar.
Change of status resident to nonresident
Students who are classified as residents but become nonresidents by virtue of any change of domicile must notify the Registrar of such change immediately. Students who believe they have been erroneously classified have the opportunity for appeal. The appeal is to be made to the authority by whoever the original classification was assigned, either in the Office of Admissions or Registrar’s Office.
Tuition and fee waivers/exemptions
Several exemptions and waivers are available to qualifying students who meet the specific state requirements for each individual waiver or exemption. Brief descriptions of these are listed below. Waiver/exemptions refunds must be requested during the term/semester application is made. Such requests must be made prior to the 12th class day in long terms/semesters, the 4th class day in the summer sessions (except 3W1), 2nd class day in 3W1. Requests for retroactive refunds are not honored. Information regarding waivers and exemptions is available at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services or at studentaccounting.unt.edu. Posted waivers/exemptions are subject to post audit and correction.
Exemptions and waivers
- Certain Texas veterans and dependents of deceased Texas veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States are exempted from payment of all tuition and fees except for the Student Service Fee and Property Deposit. State application and other documents required. The student must pay the Student Service Fee each term/semester.
- Certain orphans of members of the Armed Forces, Texas National Guard and Texas Air National Guard are exempted from payment of all tuition and fees. Documentation required.
- Certain students from other nations of the American hemisphere are exempted from payment of tuition. This waiver waives out-of-state tuition. The student pays in-state tuition rates.
- Deaf or blind Texas residents are exempted from payment of all tuition and fees. Official letter required.
- Certain disabled peace/fire officers are exempted from payment of all tuition and fees. Official letter required.
- Children of disabled or deceased firemen, peace officers, employees of the Texas Department of Corrections and game wardens are exempted from the payment of all tuition and fees. Official letter required.
- Children of U.S. prisoners of war or persons missing in action are granted exemption of all tuition and fees. Documentation required.
- Resident rather than non-resident tuition is applied to out-of-state students enrolled through the Academic Common Market Program.
- Resident rather than non-resident tuition is applied to U.S. military personnel, their spouses and dependents if they meet designated criteria. (Certificate must be approved by the Registrar prior to registration.)
- Resident rather than non-resident tuition is applied to teachers and professors of Texas state institutions of higher education, their spouses and children. Requires official application approved by hiring department.
- Resident rather than non-resident tuition is applied to a teaching or research assistant provided the student is employed at least one-half time by UNT in a position that relates to the degree sought. Requires official application approved by hiring department.
- Resident rather than non-resident tuition is applied to a non-resident holding a UNT competitive scholarship of at least $1,000.00 for the academic year or summer for which the student is enrolled. Requires official approval from the department awarding the scholarship.
- Certain university fees are waived for students enrolled only in courses designated as off-campus or internships. Students enrolled in all classes that are held off-campus automatically receive the off-campus waiver that waives the Student Union Fee, Medical Service Fee, Transportation Fee, Student Recreational Center Fee, Environmental Services Fee, Intercollegiate Athletics Fee and Property Deposit.
- Highest ranking graduates (valedictorians) of accredited Texas high schools are exempted from payment of tuition for the first two long semesters after graduation from high school. Student must pay mandatory fees and course fees. Official letter required.
- Certain Texas residents who are or have been in foster care or other residential care are exempted from the payment of all tuition and mandatory fees. Copy of official letter required.
- Resident rather than non-resident tuition is applied to individuals and dependents relocating to Texas as part of the program of state economic development and diversification. A list of companies participating in the Economic Diversification Program can be found at www.collegeforalltexans.com/apps/financialaid/EcoDevDiv.cfm.
- Students 65 years of age or older are exempt from paying tuition and graduate tuition up to 6 credit hours each semester. Students must pay mandatory fees and course fees. UNT application and copy of driver’s license required.
- Certain Texas residents who have been adopted and were formerly in foster or other residential care are exempted from the payment of all tuition and mandatory fees. Copy of official letter required.
- Certain paid firefighters employed in the State of Texas may be exempted from payment of tuition and lab fees for designated degree programs. Official letter of employment and UNT application are required each semester.
- Certain clinical preceptors and their children are exempted from payment of up to $500 in tuition per semester. Completed application and current documentation required. This exemption pays up to $500 in tuition each semester for a total of ten semesters.
- Certain paid peace officers employed by the State of Texas or a political subdivision of the state, may be exempted from the payment of undergraduate tuition and lab fees for qualifying CJUS classes. Excessive hour students are not eligible for the exemption. Must have a letter from their employer and must complete application each semester/session. The application must be submitted at least one week prior to the last day of regular registration for each semester/session attending.
Tuition and fee refunds
A student who drops a course or withdraws from the university within certain time periods may be entitled to a partial refund of tuition and fees. These refunds are calculated according to the category and time schedule listed below. Refund periods and rates are subject to change by the state legislature. Delinquent payment fees, late registration charges, publication fees and installment handling fees are non-refundable. Any financial obligation to UNT must be resolved before any refunds will be made.
Class drop refunds
Refunds are made for any course dropped through the 12th class day for the long semester. Corresponding dates are set for summer terms/sessions. See the Academic Calendar at www.unt.edu/catalog/calendar.htm for specific dates. The semester’s first class day is always the first official university day of classes and not the first day of an individual’s class. Refunds for dropped classes are processed after the midsemester. Note: If all classes for the semester are dropped, see “Schedule of Withdrawal Refunds” in this section.
Students applying for financial aid are required to notify Student Financial Aid and Scholarships before dropping any class to learn how it will affect current or future financial aid eligibility.
Withdrawal from the university
Withdrawal refunds are determined by the number of enrolled semester credit hours at the time of withdrawal. Withdrawal percentages are applied to the total amount of tuition and fees as prescribed by state law, not the amount paid. The withdrawal schedule and percentages of refund shown below pertain to total withdrawal from the term/semester and are mandated by the state legislature. The term/semester’s first class day is always the first official university day of classes and not the first day the individual attends class. A withdrawal refund is based on the day of withdrawal, regardless of the date the class first meets.
Additional information may be found at studentaccounting.unt.edu or by contacting Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services.
The withdrawal schedule and percentage of a pro-rata refund pertain to total withdrawal from the term/semester and are mandated by federal law. Please contact Student Financial Aid and Scholarships regarding pro-rata refund schedules and percentages.
Schedule of withdrawal refunds, 2015–2016
|Last day for 100 percent refund
|Last day for 80 percent refund
|Last day for 70 percent refund
|Last day for 50 percent refund
|Last day for 25 percent refund
|Last day for 100 percent refund
|Last day for 80 percent refund
|Last day for 70 percent refund
|Last day for 50 percent refund
|Last day for 25 percent refund
Schedule revised January 27, 2016.
*Note: Some fees are non-refundable.
Delinquent payment fees, late registration charges, publication fees and installment handling fee are non-refundable.
Refund of property damage deposit
A student who does not return to the university because of graduation or withdrawal from school will receive a refund of the property damage deposit.
Tuition rebates for certain undergraduates
Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education Code provides up to a $1,000 tuition rebate to students. To be eligible for a rebate under this program, a student must:
- have enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the Fall 1997 semester or later;
- request a rebate for course work related to a first baccalaureate degree received from a general academic teaching institution;
- have been a resident of Texas and have been entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree;
- if enrolled for the first time in Fall 2005 or later, graduate within four calendar years for a four-year degree or within five calendar years for a five-year degree if the degree is in a program determined by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to require more than four years to complete; and
- have attempted no more than 3 hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which the student will graduate.
Hours attempted include transfer credits, course credit earned exclusively by examination (except that, for the purpose of this program, only the number of semester credit hours earned exclusively by examination in excess of 9 semester credit hours is treated as hours attempted), courses dropped after the official census date, for-credit developmental courses, optional internship and cooperative education courses and repeated courses. Courses earned prior to high school graduation as well as courses dropped for reasons that are determined by the institution to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.
For students concurrently earning a baccalaureate degree and a Texas teaching certificate, required teacher education courses shall not be counted to the extent that they are over and above the free electives allowed in the baccalaureate degree program.
Effective for students who enroll for the first time in Fall 2005 or later, an otherwise eligible student may be eligible for a tuition rebate without satisfying the requirements of item 4 above if the student is awarded a baccalaureate degree and the institution determines that the student’s failure to comply was caused by a demonstrated hardship condition.
For additional information concerning tuition rebates, contact the Registrar’s Office or your academic advisor.
General financial policies
UNT is a state-assisted institution subject to state laws. Extension of credit is prohibited and all financial obligations to the university must be paid when due. Tuition, fees, and room and board are subject to change by action of the Texas Legislature or the Board of Regents of UNT.
Correction of errors
Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNT resulting from auditing and correction of records after registration fees have been paid including all registration assessment errors, change from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.
Payments by third party
Checks issued by a third party in payment of a student’s tuition, fees or other charges made by UNT should be made payable to UNT. The student’s name and/or student ID number should be included on the payment.
A returned check is defined as any check, similar sight order or electronic bank draft returned to the university unpaid due to no fault of the bank or the university.
Upon receipt of a returned check, notification is mailed to the issuing party or the individual in whose behalf the check was issued. The address on the check and/or the address in the official university records is used. The check is payable on or before 10 working days from the date of the notice. Only cash, cashier’s check or money order is accepted for payment of the returned check and service charge ($25 per check).
A student may be withdrawn immediately from the university if payment is not made within the stated time period. DO NOT stop attending classes unless you receive official notification of your withdrawal. Notification of withdrawal is made to the address on the check and/or the address in the official university records.
Check-issuing privileges are suspended while any returned check and/or service charge are outstanding.
If the university receives three or more returned checks during an academic year, the check-issuing privileges of the individual are revoked.
If all attempts to collect a returned check have failed, civil or criminal legal action may be taken in accordance with Texas state law (Sections 31.06 and 32.41 of the Texas Penal Code).
Stop-payment on tuition checks
A student who has not already done so will be withdrawn from UNT on the date the returned stop-payment check is received by UNT. A returned check service charge ($25 per check) will be assessed. Tuition refund charges are based on normal refund policy.
If a student wishes to be withdrawn, the Dean of Students Office should always be contacted as soon as possible.
Student Financial Aid and Scholarships at the University of North Texas offers a variety of options to assist students in financing their education. For more information on financial aid and scholarships at UNT, please visit financialaid.unt.edu, come by our offices in the Eagle Student Services Center, or call 940-565-2302.
Aid application period and deadlines
The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal FAFSA is available each January 1 for the upcoming UNT academic year (fall, spring, summer). Students are encouraged to apply online at www.fafsa.gov. Students whose application files are completed by priority deadlines are ensured first consideration for awards. Application data (from the FAFSA or Renewal FAFSA) is received electronically from the Central Processing System (Federal Student Aid Programs) through which applications are processed. The application data must reach our office before a file can be processed.
UNT’s priority deadlines:
- Fall/spring term/semester: March 15
- Spring term/semester only: August 15
- Summer term/semester: February 15
A separate UNT summer application must be completed for summer financial aid. This application is available online (my.unt.edu) early in the spring term/semester for the following summer term/semester. The FAFSA for the year preceding the summer is also required.
General aid eligibility requirements
Before any assistance is granted (Federal Pell Grant, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, Federal TEACH Grant, Federal Work-Study, Federal Perkins Loan or loans from the Federal Direct Loan Program), general eligibility and program requirements must be met. To be eligible for financial aid students must:
- establish eligibility by completing and submitting the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal Application;
- not be in default on any Title IV loan (Federal Perkins, PLUS, Federal PLUS or Federal Stafford), or owe a refund or repayment on educational funds received at any institution;
- be a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen*;
- be registered with the Selective Service if you are a male at least 18 years old born after December 31, 1959 (most males between the ages of 18 and 25, including permanent residents and other eligible noncitizens, are required to register with Selective Service);
- enroll in and maintain at least a half-time class load;
- use all funds received through financial aid for educational purposes;
- be accepted for admission by the university and enrolled in a degree or certification program;
- be making satisfactory academic progress (SAP);
- have a valid Social Security Number;
- have a high school diploma or a GED (general equivalency diploma); and
- not be convicted for the possession or sale of illegal drugs for an offense that occurred while receiving federal student aid.
Note: Visiting/transient students are not eligible for financial aid.
*Non-documented students may qualify for state assistance under Texas Senate Bill 1528. Students should visit financialaid.unt.edu for more information.
Special conditions for financial aid applicants
Students in an academic program under the undergraduate career (major or concentration) are required to enroll in at least 6 undergraduate hours per term/semester to be considered for financial aid programs.
Financial aid recipients must notify Student Financial Aid and Scholarships (SFAS) before dropping courses. Current award year or future aid eligibility may be affected.
Enrollment hours for financial aid eligibility and loan deferment may differ. Students needing certification of enrollment for loan deferment purposes should visit the UNT Registrar’s Office. Also see “Enrollment Certification ” in the Enrollment section of this catalog.
Official withdrawal from UNT
If a student has registered for classes and decides not to attend UNT, he or she must notify both Student Financial Aid and Scholarships (SFAS) and the Dean of Students Office as early as possible.
If circumstances require that the student withdraw from all classes, SFAS strongly encourages the student to contact his or her academic advisor and Student Financial Aid and Scholarships before making the final decision. The consequences of withdrawing from all classes can be explained and clearly illustrated.
If the student has already made the decision to withdraw, he or she must begin the withdrawal process with UNT’s Dean of Students Office. For online information on how to drop a course or withdraw from UNT, including official dates and deadlines, please visit the UNT Registrar’s Office’s Schedule of Classes.
If a student officially withdraws, ceases attendance, or is administratively withdrawn from UNT, federal regulations require post-secondary institutions to calculate the amount of Federal Title IV funds (aid) earned during the term from which the student withdrew. Factors considered in this federally mandated calculation include: number of days in the payment period, date of withdrawal/number of calendar days the student attends before total withdrawal as determined by SFAS (excluding scheduled breaks of at least 5 days in length), the total amount of Title IV aid eligibility, tuition and fee charges, on-campus room and board charges (if applicable), and class attendance.
The percentage of time spent in attendance is the percentage of federal funds the student has earned. Other funds received are unearned.
After Student Financial Aid and Scholarships personnel applies the federally mandated calculation, unearned Federal Title IV funds (aid) will be returned to the programs from which the money was paid to the student (or parent) in the following order:
- Unsubsidized Direct Stafford Loans
- Subsidized Direct Stafford Loans
- Federal Perkins Loans
- Federal Parent (PLUS) Loans
- Direct Parent (PLUS) Loans
- Federal Pell Grants
- TEACH Grants
- Iraq Afghanistan Service Grants
- Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants (FSEOG)
- Other Title IV Programs
- Other Federal, State, Private or Institutional Student Aid
It is possible the student will owe a repayment of unearned financial aid funds to the university if he or she ceases attendance prior to the sixty percent (60%) completion point of any payment period for which the student has received financial aid funds. The completion point is based on the total number of class days in a payment period. If it is determined that the student owes a repayment of funds, he or she will receive notification from SFAS. The student can also check the balance owed through the myUNT student portal. Students who owe a balance to UNT from a previous academic year will not be disbursed aid until the balance owed is paid. Official transcripts are not released to any student who has an unpaid account or has defaulted on loans received from any university.
Summer term official withdrawal from UNT
For Title IV (Federal Aid) purposes, a student who has enrolled in a session(s) offered in the summer semester and does not complete the session(s) in which he was enrolled is considered to have withdrawn and a Return to Title IV calculation (R2T4) will be completed. Students will not be considered to have withdrawn for the summer semester if:
- The student gives the Student Financial Aid and Scholarships office at UNT written confirmation that they will attend a session that begins later in the summer semester. The written confirmation must be provided at the time that would otherwise have been a withdrawal.
That student may change the date of their attendance in a later session than originally indicated, provided that:
- The later session begins in the summer semester;
- The student makes the change in writing prior to the date they had previously confirmed.
If the student does not attend the later session(s), the date of withdrawal from the previous session will be used as the official withdrawal date to determine the amount of Title IV aid to be returned to the U.S. Department of Education (R2T4 calculation).
Basic calculation example
- Payment period is 113 calendar days. Student attends and participates in academically related activities for 54 days and then withdraws.
- Student stayed 47.8 percent of the number of payment period days. 52.2 percent was unearned.
- Student tuition and fees for payment period totaled $547.20.
- Federal Title IV funds (aid) disbursed to the student during payment period
- $1,312.00 Subsidized Direct Stafford Loan
- $1,562.00 Federal Pell Grant
- $2,874 total 47.8 percent equals $1,373.77 earned aid
- Since earned aid is less than disbursed aid, funds must be returned to the programs from which they were paid to the student (or parent).
- $2,874 disbursed aid minus $1,373.77 earned aid equals $1,500.23 unearned aid.
- It is assumed by regulations that Federal Title IV funds (aid) paid for institutional charges (tuition/fees and room/board if applicable).
- The school pays the lesser of the total unearned ($1,500.23) aid or the unearned institutional charges $547.20 multiplied by 52.2 percent equals $285.64
- The college must return $285.64 to the lender since the loan funds are returned before grant funds and the school pays its share first.
- Once the school repays its unearned share ($285.64), the remaining unearned share ($1,214.59) must be returned (repaid) by the student.
- Of the remaining loan amount to be paid ($1,026.36), the student by regulation will repay the usual monthly repayment by the terms of the loan promissory note. Therefore, there is no immediate repayment of loan funds to the lender.
- The remaining amount of the student’s unearned share ($1,214.59 minus $1,026) is $188.23; however, by regulation, 50 percent of all Federal Title IV grant aid disbursed plus Federal Title IV grant aid awarded that could have been disbursed is protected. In this example, the Federal Title IV grant aid awarded was $1,562 in Federal Pell Grant and it was all disbursed. Therefore, $1,562 multiplied by 50 percent equals $781 is protected.
If circumstances allow the student to remain in school past the sixty percent (60%) completion point of any payment period, then there is a definite advantage. No calculations are required for students who attend past the 60 percent completion point. There will however be other consequences to consider. Withdrawing from classes will affect future eligibility for financial aid and possibly affect future scholarship disbursements. Student must meet satisfactory academic progress (SAP) requirements to maintain eligibility for financial aid as defined by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.
Students who do not officially withdraw through the UNT Dean of Students Office/cease attending class are also subject to the federally mandated calculation described above. If the student’s last date of attendance in an academically related activity is unknown to the school, then the student’s last date of attendance used in the federally mandated calculation will be the midpoint of the payment period.
Financial aid is awarded to students with the expectation that they will attend classes for the entire payment period and that they will make progress toward a degree. If the student receives all failing grades (any combination of Fs, WFs and NPs), SFAS is required to calculate the amount of Federal Title IV funds (aid) earned during the term in which all failing grades were received. The student will be required to have at least one of the student’s instructors e-mail SFAS the student’s last date of attendance in an academically related activity. If the instructor provides SFAS with the student’s last date of attendance by the prescribed deadline, then SFAS will use this date as the student’s withdrawal date in the federally mandated calculation described above. If the student’s last date of attendance in an academically related activity is unknown to the school by the prescribed deadline, then the student’s last date of attendance used in the federally mandated calculation will be the midpoint of the payment period or the equivalent date for summer sessions of enrollment.
If it is determined that the student never attended any of the classes for which the student (or parent) was paid, then the funds (aid) are considered to have not been earned. As a result, all funds (aid) will be canceled and returned to the programs from which they were awarded. The student will then owe a complete repayment to the university.
For full policy information, please view consumer information for Return of Title IV funds.
Unofficial withdrawal from UNT
Unofficial withdrawals encompass all other withdrawals where official notification is not provided to UNT. When a recipient of Title IV grant or loan assistance unofficially withdraws from an institution, after having begun class attendance during a payment period or period of enrollment, the institution must determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned up to the date of withdrawal. For these unofficial withdrawals, commonly known as dropouts, the withdrawal date is the midpoint of the payment period or the equivalent date for summer sessions of enrollment, as applicable, or the last date of an academically related activity in which the student participated.
If a student who began attendance, does not officially withdraw, and subsequently fails to earn a passing grade in at least one course offered over an entire period, the institution must assume, for Title IV purposes, that the student has unofficially withdrawn, unless the institution can document that the student completed the enrollment.
If a student receives Title IV grant or loan assistance and does not begin attendance in a payment period or period of enrollment, the student is considered to be ineligible for any Title IV aid.
Unofficially withdrawing from classes, not beginning attendance or failing to complete and pass registered hours may affect future eligibility for financial aid. Satisfactory academic progress requirements must be met to maintain eligibility for financial aid as defined by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.
Satisfactory academic progress
Federal and state regulations require that each student maintain satisfactory academic progress (SAP) to be eligible for financial aid programs. Minimum standards must be achieved by the end of any given enrollment period at UNT. Satisfactory academic progress (SAP) is defined in both pace of progression and qualitative measures. Pace of progression requires a student to complete a minimum number of required course hours each term/semester of enrollment as defined below.
of current registered hours
a student must pass
(including pass/no pass hours)
The qualitative measure requires an undergraduate student to maintain a minimum cumulative UNT grade point average of 2.0.
Maximum hour limit
In addition to meeting pace of progression and qualitative measures, undergraduate students cannot exceed hours above 150 percent of their required degree plan. The maximum includes all hours registered for, earned or attempted at any institution of higher education. This includes hours dropped, withdrawn from, failed, duplicated or never completed. It also includes hours earned in the Armed Forces.
All academic requirements are effective whether or not financial aid has ever been applied for or received. Students should visit financialaid.unt.edu for the latest information regarding satisfactory academic progress and the appeal process.
Minimum hour limit
Students in an academic program under the undergraduate career (major or concentration) are required to enroll in at least 6 undergraduate hours per term/semester to be considered for financial aid programs.
If a student receives all failing grades (any combination Fs, WFs and NPs), attendance in all classes will be reviewed. If attendance cannot be confirmed via official UNT Registrar records, or the last date the student participated in an academically related activity cannot be documented, Student Financial Aid and Scholarships personnel will apply the federally mandated calculation for the return of financial aid funds. Unearned Title IV funds (aid) will be returned to the programs from which the money was paid to the student (or parent), and it is possible that the student will owe a repayment to the university.
A grant is a type of need-based aid that does not require repayment. Financial need is determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
At UNT, the only application needed annually to be considered for federal, state and institutional aid is the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). However, eligibility for a grant program does not guarantee an award. Applicants are considered based on the date of their application while considering the FAFSA-determined Expected Family Contribution (EFC). The earliest applicants with a completed award file have the best opportunity to be considered for available grant funding. We encourage students to apply early, making sure to complete any requests for additional information so awards can be finalized.
For descriptions, amounts and eligibility requirements of federal, state and institutional grants offered at UNT, please visit financialaid.unt.edu.
Emerald Eagle Scholars
The Emerald Eagle Scholars program provides access to higher education for academically talented students with high financial need, and connects them to campus resources while engaging them in activities that facilitate their intellectual engagement, academic success and, ultimately, the timely completion of their bachelor’s degrees.
There are three program pillars that make the Emerald Eagle Scholars program a great benefit to new students. The Financial Support Pillar enables all Emerald Eagle Scholars to have the average cost of tuition and fees for 15 semester credit hours paid for through a combination of federal, state and institutional aid for a period of up to eight consecutive long semesters (or four years). The Academic Success Pillar sets high expectations for all Emerald Eagle Scholars requiring that all students complete 30 hours and maintain a 2.5 cumulative UNT GPA per academic year, all while being supported by various academic readiness programs on campus. The Campus Connection Pillar allows students to connect and take part in the richness of university life, while being guided by both peer and faculty/staff mentors and advisors.
To be eligible for the Emerald Eagle Scholars program, a student must be a Texas resident and an incoming freshman from a household with an adjusted family income that does not exceed $40,000 per year. Continued eligibility is contingent on the student earning no less than 15 semester credits and no less than a 2.5 UNT GPA each fall and spring term. For additional information, please visit the Emerald Eagle Scholars web site at financialaid.unt.edu/emerald-eagle or visit the Emerald Eagle Suite located in Sage Hall, Room 235.
Benefits for veterans
Students who have served in the military or who are currently serving or dependents/spouses of our veterans may be eligible to receive benefits from the federal Department of Veteran Affairs (VA). To find out what you may be entitled to receive, veterans will want to fill out and submit the VA online application at www.gibill.va.gov.
Current Educational Programs:
- Selected Reserves (Chapter 1606)
- Reserve Educational Assistance Program (Chapter 1607)
- Montgomery GI Bill® (Chapter 30)
- Post 9/11 GI Bill® (Chapter 33)
- Survivors and Dependents Assistance Program (Chapter 35)
VA Certifying Officials at UNT are located in Sage Hall, Room 123 and can be reached at 940-369-8021. Veterans or dependents/spouses who have questions concerning the administration of benefits should contact the Regional VA Office at 1-888-442-4551.
Hazelwood Act for Texas veterans
Information on tuition waivers for qualified veterans are available online at studentaccounting.unt.edu or at Student Veteran Services, Sage Hall, Suite 123.
Federal Work-Study Program
Eligibility for the Federal Work-Study Program is determined by established financial need, availability of monies to make awards, at least half-time enrollment and maintaining satisfactory academic progress (SAP) standards as defined by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. Students awarded Federal Work-Study are eligible to earn the financial aid amount through a work-study job. Students may begin the job search process by visiting the Career Center web site at careercenter.unt.edu. Most positions require 15–20 hours of work per week. Students apply directly to the department with the open position listed on the web site. The employing department will select students for interviews based on availability of funds, applicant’s skills, educational background and interest. Eligibility must be confirmed each term/semester to continue in the Federal Work-Study Program.
The Career Center, located in Room 103 of Chestnut Hall, provides a variety of employment opportunities on and off campus to currently enrolled students in order to help them offset their college expenses and develop good employment records. For information, call 940-565-2105 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. Information regarding on- and off-campus jobs can be accessed on each student’s my.unt.edu web site. Just click on the Eagle Network icon in the middle of the page and use your EUID and password.
Federal Perkins Student Loan
The Federal Perkins Student Loan provides low-interest loans to assist needy students with educational expenses. Awards are based upon available funds, established financial need, at least half-time enrollment, and maintaining satisfactory academic progress (SAP) standards as defined by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships (SFAS). Annual and aggregate limits are imposed based upon undergraduate career status.
Repayment begins nine months after graduation or the last day of at least half-time enrollment.
Federal Direct Stafford Loans
All Federal Direct Stafford Loans (subsidized, unsubsidized, Parent Loan for Undergraduate Students [PLUS]) are awarded based upon established financial need, at least half-time enrollment and maintaining satisfactory academic progress (SAP) standards as defined by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) must be submitted before an award will be determined. Maximum annual and aggregate limits are imposed based upon classification and dependency status.
Repayment begins six months after graduation or the last day of at least half-time enrollment.
The University of North Texas offers competitive academic scholarships to entering freshmen, transfer and continuing students to assist with educational related expenses. Many students compete for scholarships, which are awarded on merit and on a first-come, first-served basis to students enrolling in the fall term. We recommend students apply to UNT as early as possible.
The availability of all scholarship funding is affected by many factors such as the state’s economy and the stock market’s performance. The office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships (SFAS) coordinates all scholarship awards once they have been awarded.
We encourage students to visit the UNT Student Financial Aid and Scholarships web site for the most up-to-date scholarship details at financialaid.unt.edu.
Incoming student scholarships
Most UNT scholarships for incoming students (entering freshmen and transfer students) are administered by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships (SFAS), with students competing for a limited number of renewable scholarships. These scholarships are awarded based on a student’s academic performance in high school or previous college or university using academic information from their Application for Admission. Students are encouraged to also complete the annual SFAS General Academic Scholarship application, using their campus credentials assigned during the admission process (active EUID and password). This will ensure students are considered for the best scholarship opportunity available.
Scholarships available for incoming students include:
- UNT Meritorious Scholarships for National Merit Finalists
- UNT Terry Scholarships for Future Leaders of Texas
- UNT Excellence Scholarship
- UNT Transfer Scholarships (including Phi Theta Kappa members)
In the case of the UNT Meritorious Scholarship for National Merit Finalists, National Merit Scholarship Corporation notification indicating UNT as the school of choice is required to be considered.
Continuing student scholarships
The majority of scholarships for continuing students are awarded in academic departments. Student should check with specific departments for additional details.
Entering and continuing students may apply for a number of scholarships through the SFAS annual online General Scholarship Application. These scholarship awards are funded by donors that request SFAS administer their scholarships. The application is available annually in late fall. Applicants must use their active EUID and password to submit an application. Students are encouraged to complete the application as early as possible.
Non-Texas residents assessed non-resident tuition who receive a competitive scholarship of at least $1,000* by a University of North Texas (UNT) scholarship committee** are eligible to pay Texas-resident fees and charges. Non-Texas residents residing outside of Texas and only enrolled in online courses should contact their major department for specifics regarding tuition charges. Scholarships not awarded by UNT through its competitive scholarship process are not eligible to pay Texas-resident fees and charges.
*The award period must be for the academic year or summer for which they are enrolled.
**The UNT scholarship committee must be officially recognized by the administration and approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board under criteria developed by the board.
Private organizations, such as parents’ employers, fraternal organizations, and business and professional groups, can often provide other sources of financial assistance.
Room and board
Room and board fees are subject to increase and decrease by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of the University of North Texas. During 2012–2013, room and board based upon an air-conditioned, standard double occupancy room with a seven-day meal plan cost $7,149.99 per year. In addition, a reduced standard rate will be offered to residents of College Inn and West Hall. Six newer hall choices are also offered. Room and board based upon an air-conditioned, newer hall single occupancy room with a seven-day meal plan cost $8,543.99 per year during 2012–2013.
For information concerning fees charged for residence hall living, consult the UNT Tuition, Fees and Other Charges brochure printed for the particular academic year in which enrollment is planned or visit the Housing web site at housing.unt.edu.